HKSTP Ideation Programme
A one-year early-stage technology validation programme with up to HK$100,000 released across three milestone-linked grant tranches.
Official facts
Quick Facts
- Provider
- Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation
- Programme type
- Grant / Incubator / Workspace / lab / Advisory / matching
- Target stage
- Idea / Pre-MVP / MVP
- Maximum support
- Up to HK$100,000
- Duration
- 1 year
- Matching required
- No
- Equity required
- No
- Hong Kong company required
- Yes
- Company age limit
- Company applicants: Hong Kong private company limited by shares incorporated less than 2 years before the application start date; approved team applicants must incorporate within 2 weeks of panel approval and before the programme starts
- Team requirement
- Not publicly specified
- Application status
- Active
- Application model
- Batch / cohort
Editorial analysis
Who is it for?
This fit analysis is based on published eligibility and programme positioning. It is not an admission guarantee.
Who is probably not a good fit?
Teams outside the published applicant, sector, stage or company conditions should not apply solely because of the headline support. Check the current guide and weigh administration, cash-flow and reporting costs.
Financial and operating support
- Maximum support
- Up to HK$100,000
- Payment model
- Not reimbursement-based
- Stackability
- Check the terms of any other seed or incubation support before claiming the same project costs.
- Double funding and cash flow
- Applicants must disclose other publicly funded programmes. The current verified materials do not publish a universal stacking entitlement; the relevant agreements control.
Eligibility
Published requirements
- technology idea team
- early Hong Kong technology company
- The individual applicant or team principal applicant must hold a Hong Kong identity card and be at least 18 at the application deadline; a company applicant's person-in-charge must be a shareholder
- Company applicants: Hong Kong private company limited by shares incorporated less than 2 years before the application start date; approved team applicants must incorporate within 2 weeks of panel approval and before the programme starts
Before investing in an application, verify applicant entity, company age, team, IP, budget, matching cash and eligible costs. Ask the programme directly about anything not published.
Official facts
Application process
Unless an official guide says otherwise, this is an application-preparation framework, not an official assessment sequence or timing promise.
- 1
Choose an individual, team or Hong Kong company applicant route
- 2
Complete the online application and submit a 10–20 page pitch deck or business plan
- 3
Complete HKSTP assessment and selection
- 4
After admission, complete three milestones over one year
- 5
Claim up to HK$100,000 in total against milestone evidence
HKSTP Ideation application materials
The current guide calls for online application information and an approximately 10–20 page pitch deck or business plan. Individual or team PICs must check the stated Hong Kong identity-card and age conditions; company applicants must check incorporation age.
Three milestones over one year
The current application guideline describes a one-year programme and HK$100,000 of support paid across three milestones. Deliverables, evidence and payment remain governed by the admission agreement.
HKSTP Ideation FAQ v2 highlights
Who should be the person in charge (PIC)?
For a company, the PIC should be an existing shareholder; for a team, the PIC should become a shareholder of the company to be formed; an individual applicant acts as their own PIC. The PIC and registered email generally cannot be changed after portal registration begins.
What does the pitch deck require?
FAQ v2 calls for a 10–20 page PowerPoint or PDF in English or Chinese. It should cover the problem, solution, market, competition, quarterly milestones over 12 months, core team and the support sought from HKSTP.
What does the pitch video require?
The PIC should appear and use their own voice in a 2.5–3.5 minute video of no more than 20MB. English, Cantonese or Mandarin may be used. The FAQ says AI avatars and generated voices are generally not permitted.
What is required after panel approval?
Individuals need qualifying address evidence issued within three months. Company or team cases generally need incorporation, valid business-registration and shareholder records showing the PIC, or an effective share-transfer document where needed.
Sources
Official Resource Library
We provide official links, versions and structured explanations only. Original documents are not rehosted.
This page provides a plain-language interpretation of official materials. The official source remains authoritative.
Frequently Asked Questions for Ideation Application
The current application FAQ specifies the PIC rules, pitch-deck and pitch-video formats, and identity or company documents required after approval.
- Original language
- English
- Version
- Version 2
- Published
- 2026-03-27
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03
HKSTP Ideation Programme official programme source
The provider's official programme page for checking current purpose, eligibility, support and application access.
- Original language
- English
- Version
- Current programme webpage
- Published
- Not publicly specified
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03
Application Guideline for Ideation
The current guide covers mandatory criteria, application and assessment, three milestones, funding, monitoring, early graduation and the suggested business-plan structure. The file is v6.1 while the document identifies itself as Version 6 dated 8 March 2024.
- Original language
- English
- Version
- File v6.1; document displays Version 6
- Published
- 2024-03-08
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03
HKSTP Ideation launch history
An HKSTP announcement with AWS states that the Ideation Programme launched in 2019 and records a 2022 co-ideation initiative.
- Original language
- English
- Version
- Not publicly specified
- Published
- 2022-11-24
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03
HKSTP Annual Report 2020-21: STEP predecessor record
The official annual report describes STEP as a one-year pre-incubation programme for ideation and reports membership, graduates and progression as of March 2021.
- Original language
- English
- Version
- Annual Report 2020-21
- Published
- Not publicly specified
- Last verified
- 2026-09-03